Good News! Professor Zhang Laibin was Elected as an Academician of the Chinese Academy of Engineering

On November 18, the Chinese Academy of Engineering issued the "Announcement of Newly Elected Academicians of the Chinese Academy of Engineering in 2021." In 2021, the list of 84 new academicians of the Chinese Academy of Engineering and 20 foreign academicians of the Chinese Academy of Engineering was officially announced. Professor Zhang Laibin of China University of Petroleum (Beijing) was elected as an academician of the Chinese Academy of Engineering (Department of Energy and Mining Engineering).

Professor Zhang Laibin became the fourth new academician of China University of Petroleum (Beijing) since 2013 after Academician Gao Deli, Academician Li Gensheng and Academician Xu Chunming.


Zhang Laibin, from Tongling, Anhui, Ph.D., professor and doctoral supervisor of China University of Petroleum (Beijing). Convener of the 8th Security Science and Engineering Discipline Appraisal Group of the State Council. Deputy Director of the Safety Engineering Education Steering Committee of the Ministry of Education. Member of the Professional Setting and Teaching Steering Committee of Higher Education, Ministry of Education. Director of the Safety Professional Certification Committee of China Engineering Education Certification Association. Deputy Director of Petroleum Engineering Committee of China Petroleum Institute. Vice Chairman of the Second Council of the Society of Public Safety Science and Technology. Member of the editorial board of the third edition of "Encyclopedia of China", director of the editorial board of "Petroleum Science", "Petroleum Science Bulletin", "China Safety Production Science and Technology", "Petroleum Drilling Technology" and other magazines. He has been honored as an outstanding member of the International Association of Petroleum Engineers, Sun Yueqi Energy Award, IET-Fangzheng University President Award, Beijing Famous Teacher and other honors, and has a special government allowance from the State Council.


In July 1982, he graduated from East China Petroleum Institute with a bachelor's degree in Petroleum Field Machinery. In June 1985, he graduated from the Beijing Graduate School of East China Petroleum Institute with a master's degree in Petroleum Mechanical Engineering. In November 1991, he graduated from the University of Petroleum (Beijing) with a PHD's degree in Petroleum Mechanical Engineering, and then stayed at school to engage in scientific research and teaching. From June 2005 to February 2021, he served as the president of China University of Petroleum (Beijing). He is currently the director of the Key Laboratory of Oil and Gas Production Safety and Emergency Technology of the Emergency Management Department. Member of the Standing Committee of the 11th, 12th and 13th National Committee of the Chinese People's Political Consultative Conference, member of the Central Standing Committee of the Democratic League, and deputy chairman of the Beijing Democratic League.


Professor Zhang Laibin has long been engaged in the research of oil and gas production system and equipment safety science and engineering theory, method and technology, and created the first safety science and engineering discipline in the petroleum university. Innovative achievements have been made in oil well pipe damage detection, fault detection and diagnosis of large-scale power units for oil and gas production, and risk assessment and early warning of oil and gas production systems, which have promoted China’s technological progress in this field. He presided over several major projects entrusted by the national, provincial and enterprise, won 4 second prizes of national Scientific and technological Achievements, among which, he won two second prizes of national technical invention as the first accomplisher. one provincial science and technology progress prize and a number of provincial scientific and technological progress first prize, published a number of monographs and textbooks, authorized more than 50 invention patents, published more than 200 academic theses.