The College of Science is formerly known as the Teaching and Research Divisions of Mathematics and Physics established in 1953. It evolved to the Department of Mathematics and Physics in 2000, and eventually combined with the Department of Applied Chemistry and the Department of Material Science and Engineering in 2010, to become the College of Science.

The college consists of 4 departments (Mathematics, Physics, Applied Chemistry, and Material Science and Engineering), 2 experimental and teaching centers (Experiment and Teaching Center of Physics and Experiment, Teaching Center of Chemistry) and other research institutes. The college has 129 members of the faculty and staff in total, including 30 professors and 39 associate professors. The college offers two Doctoral programs, 21 Master programs and 4 Bachelor programs, among which Applied Chemistry and Material Science and Engineering are Beijing Municipal Key Programs.

The  research fields include: Chemistry of Petroleum and Gas, Chemistry of Functional Materials, Chemistry of New-type Clean Energy, Chemistry of Interface and Colloid, Corrosion and Corrosion Control, Functional Materials and Intelligent Materials, Polymer Materials, Macromolecular Materials, High Performance Materials, Failure Analysis,  Physics of Functional Materials, Condensed Matter Physics, Radio Physics, Applied Optics, Applied Acoustics,  Fuzzy System and Fuzzy Control, Differential Equation Theory and its Application, Multivariate Statistics and Process Statistics, Financial Mathematics and its Application, Scientific Mathematics, Principle and Methods of Optimization.

The faculties of College of Science are highly active in over 10 academic programs including National Natural Science Fundation Programs, 973, 863, and other research programs of provincial and ministerial level. The college  gets funding over 20 million RMB per year, and has achieved fruitful results so far.