About us

The history of the College of Petroleum Engineering can be traced back to 1953 when the Department of Drilling Engineering was established in Beijing Petroleum College. Over the past six decades, the College has been playing an essential role for the petroleum industry, especially in cultivating young professionals.
Having been ranking 1st in the field of Petroleum Engineering in China ever since it was founded, our college never forgets its ambition, which is to cultivate highly qualified inter-disciplinary talents for society and conduct research on cutting-edge technology. To achieve this goal, the College puts emphasis on helping students lay a solid foundation in fundamentals and necessary skills in Petroleum Engineering by delivering highquality research-based education. Moreover, a series of highend laboratories and facilities have been established. The College of Petroleum Engineering has access to extensive laboratory facilities that are currently being utilized to conduct physical and chemical tests and computer modeling. The College of Petroleum Engineering is home to 131 faculty members including 45 professors and 42 associate professors.On top of that, with an ever-growing faculty led by three academicians of Chinese Academy of Engineering, two academicians of Chinese Academy of Sciences and one academician of Canadian Academy of Engineering, a sophisticated personnel training system has been working efficiently.
The College of Petroleum Engineering also devotes to developing a global perspective. Our international reputation grows with the quality of our graduates, construction of first-class disciplines and our academic level.


Secretary of the Branch Committee of the CPC Professor Ning Zhengfu is in charge of Party affairs, Trade Union affairs, United Front affairs, Disciplinary Inspection & Supervision, Auditing and Security & Stability. Address of Office: CNPC Building A807,TEL:89733197、89732198.
Dean Professor Zhang Guangqing is in charge of discipline construction, personnel, international communication, scientific research, financial affairs and administrative affairs. Address of Office: CNPC Building A807,TEL:89733920、89732178.
Vice Dean Professor Huang Shijun is in charge of undergraduate teaching and teaching laboratories. Address of Office: CNPC Building A712,TEL:89733218.
Vice Dean Professor Tian Shouceng takes charge of  scientific research, laboratory construction and state-owned assets. Address of Office: CNPC Building A810,TEL:89739312.
Vice Dean Associate Professor Liu Wei takes charge of postgraduate teaching,  performance assessment and Trade Union affairs . Address of Office: CNPC Building A810,TEL:89739161.
Deputy Secretary of the Branch Committee of the CPC Yan Liangliang takes charge of student affairs, publicity, employment, Youth League Committee and Alumni Association.  Address of Office: CNPC Building A810,TEL:89733990.